A DAY IN THE LIFE OF LINDSAY MCKENNA…A PEEK BEHIND THE CURTAIN OF AN AUTHOR’S LIFE…

Hey Readers!
Here’s a funny I want to share with all of you. I term it: A DAY IN THE LIFE OF A WRITER. You don’t get peeks behind the curtain often on us, but this one is worth sharing ;-).

My husband, David, is a voracious readers. I called him in from his office to come and look at the memes you folks had created. He about had a heart attack, haha….here’s how it went:

“Dave, come and see the promo ads that Kensington just sent me.”

Grumble, grumble…..”I’m busy….”

“Well UNbusy yourself and get in here. I want to see what you think of the memes.”

He comes shuffling into my office, scowling and leans over my shoulder.

I click on the Johnstone/McKenna ad.

fb-size-cowboy-copy

“Oh, my GOD!” he spouted, his eyes bulging. “Are you serious?”

“About what?” I demanded, not understanding his out-of-character reaction. He’s staring at the screen, at that ad.

“I don’t believe it!” He jabs his finger at the screen. “Do you KNOW who this man is? William Johnstone?”

“He writes westerns and is a New York Times Best Selling author for Kensington,” I replied, not understanding his wild man reaction.

“No, no, you don’t understand,” and he straightens up, his hands flying all over the place.

“WHAT don’t I understand, Dave? God, it’s an ad. If you don’t like it, say so, okay?”

He stares at me like I’m an alien who has just landed from Mars. “You don’t know who he is? He’s only the most famous western writer in the world! I’ve read dozens of his books. They’re the best of all the western writers I read.”

I give him a bored look. “You never tell me what author or what story you’re reading. How can I know?” (He’s a scorpio….they keep EVERYTHING to themselves…).

He looked at the ad, utter amazement in his expression. “That—that’s REALLY something that Kensington has put YOUR BOOK next to a book by William Johnstone! They must really think a lot of you.”

“So? You like the ad?”

“Like it? I-I’m stunned. I mean, Johnstone is the best of all the western writers in THE WORLD!!! He writes about more than just cowboys, too. He writes about mountain men, different aspects of the West…” and his voice trails off in admiration for the author.

(Thought you Girls would like to see this little diatribe ;-))

And then, on to meme #2 with the description of Roan…Dave looks at that and says, “That’s great writing they did on that meme.”

I gave him a one-eyebrow raised look. “That’s MY writing from the book, Dave. MINE. Not theirs.” (Note: he doesn’t read my books so there you go….couldn’t tell my writing from anyone else’s).

“Oh!” and then he flushes and gets embarrassed. “Oh…well, the writing is really, really good.”

“Bet you thought William Johnstone wrote it, huh?” I couldn’t resist a jab.

He kind of gave me a silly-assed grin and mumbled, “Well, for a moment, I really did think it might have William Johnstone who had wrote that ad for your book.”

And so it goes…a woman author gets NO credit for her writing, haha. I patted Dave’s arm and said, “Okay, go away now.”

“I do like the memes.”

“Good, glad you do. See you at dinner….”

He shuffles off toward his office, hands in pocket, shaking his head (and I’m sure it’s still over the surprise of his beloved William Johnstone being on the same ad with one of my books). I’m still laughing about it, but I closed the door first so he couldn’t hear me giggling.

JOIN ME FOR A KENSINGTON FACE BOOK PARTY!!
10.19.16
Kensington FACEBOOK PARTY

Wind River Valley Facebook Party

PRE-ORDER Wrangler here and receive EXCLUSIVE content the day before it is published:
http://sites.kensingtonbooks.com/WindRiverValley/

10-11-16-wind-river-wrangler-1

iBOOK/APPLE READERS! You get a FREE chapter download instantly here:
Apple/iBook bonus content available

fb-ibooks-bonus-chapter-wind-river-wrangler-by-lindsay-mckenna

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/wind-river-wrangler-ibooks/id1088651303?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

LINKS:
Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Wind-River-Wrangler-Lindsay-McKenna-ebook/dp/B01BAYVCPQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_sims?ie=UTF8

BN.com
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wind-river-wrangler-lindsay-mckenna/1123344401?ean=9781420141740

Kobo.com
https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/wind-river-wrangler

AUDIO: http://www.simplyaudiobooks.com and available on 10.25.16

CONNECT WITH ME!
http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/author.aspx/31757
and
http://www.lindsaymckenna.com

Leave a Reply

